Small office printing – Impressions of the Xerox Phaser 6110 MFP.

About the first time you need decent color printing for a project, it’s usually too late. I had been on the fence for a while about buying a color laser printer, but a rash of RFPs this last winter really drove home the need. In an effort to get some space back in my relatively cramped office, I opted for a multifunction printer (MFP). Although I’m more of a component sort of guy, low cost & convenience seem to be driving me towards integration now.

I finally decided on the Xerox Phaser 6110 MFP, the bottom-tier offering from Xerox in the color MPF category. I’ve been using Phaser printers since back when it was the Tektronix Phaser line, & I’ve always been pretty pleased with the quality of printing. Reviews for the 6110 MPF were few & far between on the web, and the local Xerox reps I talked to didn’t have demo models for me to try either. Despite lack of any info other than the Xerox company line, I took a chance and gave the 6110 MFP a go. I figured in case anyone else was looking at this particular MFP, I’d jot down my impressions after the first couple of weeks of use with a slant toward the cartographic user –

The Phaser 6110 boasts a plethora of features for a MFP priced under $600 (after a $70 rebate). Highlights include color as well as black & white copying, scanning via USB or network, and modest printing times of 4 pages per minute in color and 17 pages per minute in black & white. Unlike many of the Phaser line, the 6110 MFP uses standard powdered toner, not the “solid ink” the Xerox is so proud of. Honestly this was a bit of a let-down for me, because I like the glossy sheen of the solid ink, but Xerox likes toner for their MFPs, so I was left with little choice.

In my pre-small business days, I had access to machines that would print on paper up to tabloid size (11″x 17″) and you get spoiled making tabloid-sized cartographic products because it’s such a flexible size. Unfortunately, tabloid printing is expensive, usually starting at ~ $2500, so we have to settle for a maximum page size of 8.5″ x 14″, which isn’t as useful, but at least I’ve still got options. Concerning the paper sizes it does handle, the 6110 MFP has a 50 sheet document feeder, which is usually found on MFPs costing at least $150 more. It also has a manual sheet feeder for envelopes & transparencies, and a standard 150 sheet cartridge. An additional 250 sheet cartridge is available for another $150 (which I didn’t purchase) for those who don’t like refilling the paper all that often, taking total paper capacity up to 400 sheets.

The printer comes equipped with 128MB of RAM standard, which during my tests allowed me to print full-page aerial photos in less than a couple of minutes. It’s also worth mentioning that it doesn’t take up a whole mess of room either. About the closest thing I can think of to compare it to in size & weight is a half-size mini-fridge.

A few gee-whiz things make this MFP a joy to use. The first is the ability to scan straight to PDF or JPEG without a computer. The PDF can be emailed from the machine using email addresses stored in an internal address book, or they can be dumped to a USB drive plugged into the port on the front of the machine. The front USB port can also be used to print directly from digital cameras that support PictBridge. Another feature worth mentioning is that the printer can be hooked up simultaneously to USB and Ethernet for printing and scanning. The main benefit to this being that TWAIN & WIA control of the scanner is only available via USB, but network scanning is way more convenient. However, network scanning doesn’t allow for anything above 300 dpi, and it’s difficult if not impossible to tweak a scan from the unit itself. Copying speed is modest and warm-up doesn’t take long, which would be more than sufficient for an office with a half-dozen people, I would think.

Most important is the print quality. Black & white/greyscale printing is superb, attributed mainly to non-composite (true black) printing. Color is a mixed bag. Color reproduction via the color copier is a bit off, but you’d probably never know if you didn’t have the original sitting next to you. Photo printing is a bit below average when standard quality printing is used but is quite acceptable using best quality settings. That said, the 6110 MFP really shines where large blocks of solid color are concerned. My test prints showed even tones with minimal (if any) banding. Translated to the cartographic world – good for choropleth-type maps; acceptable for aerial photos.

To sum up, the Xerox Phaser 6110 MFP is a lot of office magic for not much money, especially if space is as tight as your purse strings. If this printer did a tabloid page for only a couple hundred bucks more, it would fit my needs perfectly.

Here’s a link to Xerox’s product page for some details.

8 Responses to “Small office printing – Impressions of the Xerox Phaser 6110 MFP.”

  1. Nigel Stoner Says:

    Thanks for your review, It’s been hard finding one about this printer, so you must be one of the first.

    I was looking at the plain 6110n for purchasing in the Schools I work at, just as an alternative to the HP2600n that we have been buying.

    The small size is a boon for a color laser, but my main worry is not the PPM, but the PPT, or:- how many Pages Per Toner cartridge do you get out of it? The specs say a 1000 sheets, which seems quite low compared to other machines, although the Toner only costs as much as some inkjet cartridges.

    Thanks again.

    TTFN Nigel.

  2. Xerox Information Says:

    RE: “…Unlike many in the Phaser line”

    Xerox actually only offers a couple of solid ink models. The word Phaser is just a name and does not mean the printer is a certain technology. The solid ink Phaser printer (current model) is the 8560, is also offered in multifunction form, the 8560MFP (previously the C2424).

  3. PANKAJ MAHANTA Says:

    dear Sir,

    Can you plz. send me the quotations for one machine having the facilities for Colour xerox +colour scanner+black and white xerox in A4 size and A3 size separately..

    its needed for our office at RAYAGADA, orissa.

    regard,s
    PANKAJ MAHANTA.
    09438208415

  4. Peg Duthie Says:

    I’m seriously thinking of getting one of these (neither my ancient Lexmark printer nor HP PSC can handle what I need) . Thanks for the detailed review – very helpful.

  5. qtoner Says:

    great review! there are not many out there about this printer and it’s good to see a review over one! glad to hear that you enjoy your printer!

  6. Anon90 Says:

    Its a very nice printer. It does the job done But a friend recently told me that he was satisfied with the Phaser 8560 which he got from freeprinterpromo.com so I decided why not give it a try. I have been using this unit for almost a year now and quite frankly, I am also satisfied with its performance. Crisp picture quality prints at lightning speed. Works well with our business print requirements. The only thing I hate is the sound it makes while printing. But it is tolerable, lols.

  7. Printer Troubleshooting Says:

    Nice blog about printer. I have a lot of problem with my office printer. I’m IT support and need to solve any problem. Do you have any suggestion about printer troushooting guide site? Thank you very much.

  8. Trista Rodkey Says:

    Great information. I’m researching laser printers for my small office.

Comments are closed.


